College Leadership Team 

Marwa Hassan, Associate Dean, Academic Affairs

Dr. Marwa Hassan is the founder and director of the regional university transportation center Tran-SET, as well as the CETF Distinguished Professor and Jacobs Professor of Excellence in the LSU College of Engineering. She served on LSU's Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) from 2018-2022 and as secretary of the FSEC in 2021-2022. She also served as the Bert S. Turner Department of Construction Management graduate coordinator for seven years from 2012-2018. Her area of expertise is evaluation and characterization of sustainable infrastructure materials and Life-Cycle Assessment (LCA). 

Dr. Hassan has more than 20 years of industrial and academic experience in material science and characterization, LCA, and sustainable engineering. She has established a unique, multi-disciplinary research and education program at LSU for undergraduate and graduate students focused on infrastructure sustainability and the use of advanced materials, including nanomaterials in construction applications. She has attracted research funding exceeding $35 million and has published 109 refereed journal publications and 155 refereed conference proceedings with her students.

Dr. Hassan served as ASCE's Construction Research Congress (CRC) president in 2017-2018 and is currently the award committee chair within the Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC) executive committee. She is a member of many Transportation Research Board (TRB) committees, including AFH10, AFH30, and AFH50. She is also a member of AFD001: Pavement Sustainability subcommittee. In addition, she is a member of the Construction Industry Institute (CII) academic committee and a friend of the Sustainable Pavement Technical Work Group (SPTWG). She led the design and construction of the first photocatalytic pavement in the United States.

Ami McGucken, Assistant Dean of Administration

As Assistant Dean of Administration, Ami McGucken is responsible for the operational aspects of the College including: Computing Services, Facilities, Finance, and Human Resources. Prior to joining the College in August of 2012, she worked at Pennington Biomedical Center as a trial recruiting manager. Ami earned both her Bachelor of Science and Master of Science from Louisiana State University.

Academic Department Chairs

Department of Biological & Agricultural Engineering
Marybeth Lima
Department Chair, holder of the Cliff & Nancy Spanier Alumni Professorship

Cain Department of Chemical Engineering
Michael G. Benton
Department Chair, holder of the Bernard S. Pressburg Professorship

Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering
George Z. Voyiadjis
Department Chair, Boyd Professor, holder of the Bingham C. Stewart Distinguished Professorship

Bert S. Turner Department of Construction Management
Charles Berryman
Department Chair, holder of the Contractors Educational Trust Fund Professorship

School of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, Division of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Jerry Trahan
Division Chair, holder of the Chevron Professorship

School of Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, Division of Computer Science & Engineering
Bijaya Karki
Division Chair, Associate Professor of Computer Science

Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering
Dimitris Nikitopoulos
Department Chair, Alexis and Marguerite Voohries Endowed Professor of Mechanical Engineering, holder of the Richard J. and Katherine J. Juneau Distinguished Professorship

Craft & Hawkins Department of Petroleum Engineering
Seung Kam
Interim Department Chair, holder of the Donald W. and Gayle A. Keller Distinguished Professorship